19
September
2015

Silver State 508, the hardest race in the world

Undertaken by: Dany Bonneville and Bruno Jean

On September 19, I will face the Nevada desert with my work partner, Bruno Jean, who I am very pleased to initiate to the Silver State 508 race.

The experience was challenging in 2013, and it is with an iron will that I committed myself in this project in order to achieve again the feat of crossing a distance of 818 kilometers, with over 25 000 feet of elevation gain, in less than 48 hours. This challenge realization allowed me to reach the limits of my endurance and I wish to surpass myself again for a cause that is dear to me, the Heart and Stroke Foundation.

It is in this context that I now seek your generous support, which will allow Bruno Jean and myself to take up the challenge of the Silver State 508 race, which is considered the most difficult sporting event on the planet, and raise funds for the Foundation.

After succeeding this sporting achievement, I feel the need to push my limits and to show this experience to my new running partner. I will move forward with only one mission in mind: educating Quebecers about the importance of health and adopting a healthy lifestyle. In meeting this challenge, I hope to inspire people and give them the motivation to move.

My involvement in the Foundation’s activities, such as the California Wine Tasting, Loterie du Cœur and Feats for Hearts, shows my desire and motivation to help the Foundation change the statistics.

Unfortunately, the reality is that an estimated 62,000 strokes occur, one every nine minutes, and that more than 13,000 people die from this disease each year in the country.

Your support is vital in the fight to eliminate heart disease and stroke to create more survivors.

Thank you so much in advance, dear partners, for your support to raise funds for the Foundation.

Dany Bonneville


At the turn of 40, a major health change occurred in my life. I have always been a great sportsman, but the arrival of forties encouraged me to adopt a new healthier lifestyle in every way. I witnessed relatives living with disease, and this was a source of inspiration and motivation. I first turned to cycling and I discovered a real passion for the sport. Then, a close friend introduced me to the world of triathlons, and I have since become a triathlete. Three half-Ironman Tremblant 70.3 and a full Ironman later, the passion is still greater. The sense of accomplishment is immense, and it proves that nothing is impossible regardless of our age. My ultimate goal by 2018 is to qualify for the world championships at the Hawaii Ironman race.

I try to constantly transmit my passion to people around me. Now, nearly a dozen employees at Taiga Building Products are a part of relay teams for the Tremblant Ironman 70.3.

And as I welcome new challenges with open arms, I am very happy to accept the one that Dany Bonneville gave me, which is to partner with him at the Silver State 508. This endurance race, one of the most difficult in the world, lasts 48 hours and takes place in extreme weather conditions, in the desert, during day and night.

Your donations to the Heart and Stroke Foundation are important, and every dollar can have a concrete impact on the life of someone else. Think about it!

Bruno Jean

  • Make a donation to

  • Share your support with your friends

  • Or support a participant

    • Dany Bonneville

      Dany Bonneville

      On September 19, I will face the Nevada desert with my work partner, Bruno Jean, who I am very pleased to initiate to the Silver State 508 race.

      The experience was challenging in 2013, and it is with an iron will that I committed myself in this project in order to achieve again the feat of crossing a distance of 818 kilometers, with over 25 000 feet of elevation gain, in less than 48 hours. This challenge realization allowed me to reach the limits of my endurance and I wish to surpass myself again for a cause that is dear to me, the Heart and Stroke Foundation.

      It is in this context that I now seek your generous support, which will allow Bruno Jean and myself to take up the challenge of the Silver State 508 race, which is considered the most difficult sporting event on the planet, and raise funds for the Foundation.

      After succeeding this sporting achievement, I feel the need to push my limits and to show this experience to my new running partner. I will move forward with only one mission in mind: educating Quebecers about the importance of health and adopting a healthy lifestyle. In meeting this challenge, I hope to inspire people and give them the motivation to move.

      My involvement in the Foundation’s activities, such as the California Wine Tasting, Loterie du Cœur and Feats for Hearts, shows my desire and motivation to help the Foundation change the statistics.

      Unfortunately, the reality is that an estimated 62,000 strokes occur, one every nine minutes, and that more than 13,000 people die from this disease each year in the country.

      Your support is vital in the fight to eliminate heart disease and stroke to create more survivors.

      Thank you so much in advance, dear partners, for your support to raise funds for the Foundation.

      Dany Bonneville

    • Bruno Jean

      Bruno Jean

      At the turn of 40, a major health change occurred in my life. I have always been a great sportsman, but the arrival of forties encouraged me to adopt a new healthier lifestyle in every way. I witnessed relatives living with disease, and this was a source of inspiration and motivation. I first turned to cycling and I discovered a real passion for the sport. Then, a close friend introduced me to the world of triathlons, and I have since become a triathlete. Three half-Ironman Tremblant 70.3 and a full Ironman later, the passion is still greater. The sense of accomplishment is immense, and it proves that nothing is impossible regardless of our age. My ultimate goal by 2018 is to qualify for the world championships at the Hawaii Ironman race.

      I try to constantly transmit my passion to people around me. Now, nearly a dozen employees at Taiga Building Products are a part of relay teams for the Tremblant Ironman 70.3.

      And as I welcome new challenges with open arms, I am very happy to accept the one that Dany Bonneville gave me, which is to partner with him at the Silver State 508. This endurance race, one of the most difficult in the world, lasts 48 hours and takes place in extreme weather conditions, in the desert, during day and night.

      Your donations to the Heart and Stroke Foundation are important, and every dollar can have a concrete impact on the life of someone else. Think about it!

      Bruno Jean

19
septembre
2015

Silver State 508, la course de 48h la plus difficile du monde!

Entrepris par : Dany Bonneville et Bruno Jean

Le 19 septembre prochain, j’affronterai à vélo le désert du Nevada, en duo avec mon partenaire de travail, Bruno Jean, qu’il me fait vraiment très plaisir d’initier à la course cycliste Silver State 508.

L’expérience a été exigeante en 2013, et c’est avec une volonté de fer que je me suis engagé dans le projet de réaliser à nouveau l’exploit de traverser une distance de 818 kilomètres, avec plus de 25 000 pieds de gain en élévation, et ce, en moins de 48 heures. La réalisation de ce défi m’a permis d’atteindre les limites de mon endurance, et je souhaite me dépasser à nouveau pour une cause qui m’est chère, celle de la Fondation des maladies du cœur et de l’AVC.

C’est dans ce contexte que je sollicite aujourd’hui votre généreux soutien, qui me permettra, en duo avec Bruno Jean, de relever le défi de vélo Silver State 508, qualifié comme l’événement sportif de 48 heures le plus ardu à travers la planète, et ainsi d’amasser des dons pour la Fondation.

Après avoir réussi cet exploit sportif, je ressens le besoin de repousser mes limites et de faire vivre cette expérience à mon nouveau partenaire de course. Je foncerai avec une seule mission en tête, celle de sensibiliser les Québécois à l’importance de la santé et à l’adoption d’un mode de vie sain. En relevant ce défi, j’espère inspirer les gens et donner à ceux-ci le goût de bouger.

Mon implication dans les activités de la Fondation, telles que la Dégustation des vins de Californie, la Loterie du Cœur et Les Exploits du cœur, illustre mon désir et ma motivation d’aider la Fondation à modifier les statistiques.

La triste réalité est qu’environ 62 000 AVC se produisent chaque année, soit un toutes les neuf minutes, et que plus de 13 000 personnes, au pays, décèdent des suites de cette maladie.

Votre appui est donc vital dans cette lutte pour éliminer les maladies du cœur et les AVC afin de créer plus de survivants.

Je vous remercie à l’avance du fond du cœur, chers partenaires, pour votre soutien afin d’amasser des dons pour la Fondation.

Dany Bonneville


Au tournant de mes 40 ans, un virage santé important s’est produit dans ma vie. J’ai toujours été un grand sportif, mais l’arrivée de la quarantaine m’a encouragé à adopter de nouvelles habitudes de vie plus saines à tous points de vue. J’ai été témoin de proches vivant avec la maladie, et cela a été une source d’inspiration et de motivation. Je me suis tout d’abord tourné vers le vélo et je me suis découvert une véritable passion pour ce sport. Puis, un ami proche m’a fait connaître le monde du triathlon et depuis, je suis devenu triathlète. Trois demi-Ironman 70.3 Tremblant et un Ironman complet plus tard, la passion est toujours plus grande. Le sentiment d’accomplissement est immense, et cela prouve que rien n’est impossible peu importe l’âge que nous avons. Mon objectif ultime, d’ici 2018, est de me qualifier pour les championnats du monde pour la course Ironman d’Hawaï.

J’essaie de constamment transmettre ma passion aux gens qui m’entourent. Maintenant, près d’une dizaine d’employés chez Taiga, produits de bâtiment, font partie d’équipes à relais pour la course Ironman 70.3 de Tremblant.

Et comme j’accueille les défis à bras ouverts, je suis très content d’accepter celui que m’a lancé mon ami Dany Bonneville, soit de participer en duo à la Silver State 508. Cette course d’endurance de 48 heures est l’une des plus difficiles du monde, et se déroule dans des conditions climatiques extrêmes, en plein désert et autant de jour que de nuit.

Vos dons à la Fondation des maladies du cœur et de l’AVC sont importants, et chaque dollar peut avoir un impact concret sur la vie de quelqu’un d’autre. Pensez-y bien!

Bruno Jean

  • Faites un don en ligne

  • Partagez votre appui avec vos amis

  • ou encouragez un des participants

    • Dany Bonneville

      Dany Bonneville

      Le 19 septembre prochain, j’affronterai à vélo le désert du Nevada, en duo avec mon partenaire de travail, Bruno Jean, qu’il me fait vraiment très plaisir d’initier à la course cycliste Silver State 508.

      L’expérience a été exigeante en 2013, et c’est avec une volonté de fer que je me suis engagé dans le projet de réaliser à nouveau l’exploit de traverser une distance de 818 kilomètres, avec plus de 25 000 pieds de gain en élévation, et ce, en moins de 48 heures. La réalisation de ce défi m’a permis d’atteindre les limites de mon endurance, et je souhaite me dépasser à nouveau pour une cause qui m’est chère, celle de la Fondation des maladies du cœur et de l’AVC.

      C’est dans ce contexte que je sollicite aujourd’hui votre généreux soutien, qui me permettra, en duo avec Bruno Jean, de relever le défi de vélo Silver State 508, qualifié comme l’événement sportif de 48 heures le plus ardu à travers la planète, et ainsi d’amasser des dons pour la Fondation.

      Après avoir réussi cet exploit sportif, je ressens le besoin de repousser mes limites et de faire vivre cette expérience à mon nouveau partenaire de course. Je foncerai avec une seule mission en tête, celle de sensibiliser les Québécois à l’importance de la santé et à l’adoption d’un mode de vie sain. En relevant ce défi, j’espère inspirer les gens et donner à ceux-ci le goût de bouger.

      Mon implication dans les activités de la Fondation, telles que la Dégustation des vins de Californie, la Loterie du Cœur et Les Exploits du cœur, illustre mon désir et ma motivation d’aider la Fondation à modifier les statistiques.

      La triste réalité est qu’environ 62 000 AVC se produisent chaque année, soit un toutes les neuf minutes, et que plus de 13 000 personnes, au pays, décèdent des suites de cette maladie.

      Votre appui est donc vital dans cette lutte pour éliminer les maladies du cœur et les AVC afin de créer plus de survivants.

      Je vous remercie à l’avance du fond du cœur, chers partenaires, pour votre soutien afin d’amasser des dons pour la Fondation.

      Dany Bonneville

    • Bruno Jean

      Bruno Jean

      Au tournant de mes 40 ans, un virage santé important s’est produit dans ma vie. J’ai toujours été un grand sportif, mais l’arrivée de la quarantaine m’a encouragé à adopter de nouvelles habitudes de vie plus saines à tous points de vue. J’ai été témoin de proches vivant avec la maladie, et cela a été une source d’inspiration et de motivation. Je me suis tout d’abord tourné vers le vélo et je me suis découvert une véritable passion pour ce sport. Puis, un ami proche m’a fait connaître le monde du triathlon et depuis, je suis devenu triathlète. Trois demi-Ironman 70.3 Tremblant et un Ironman complet plus tard, la passion est toujours plus grande. Le sentiment d’accomplissement est immense, et cela prouve que rien n’est impossible peu importe l’âge que nous avons. Mon objectif ultime, d’ici 2018, est de me qualifier pour les championnats du monde pour la course Ironman d’Hawaï.

      J’essaie de constamment transmettre ma passion aux gens qui m’entourent. Maintenant, près d’une dizaine d’employés chez Taiga, produits de bâtiment, font partie d’équipes à relais pour la course Ironman 70.3 de Tremblant.

      Et comme j’accueille les défis à bras ouverts, je suis très content d’accepter celui que m’a lancé mon ami Dany Bonneville, soit de participer en duo à la Silver State 508. Cette course d’endurance de 48 heures est l’une des plus difficiles du monde, et se déroule dans des conditions climatiques extrêmes, en plein désert et autant de jour que de nuit.

      Vos dons à la Fondation des maladies du cœur et de l’AVC sont importants, et chaque dollar peut avoir un impact concret sur la vie de quelqu’un d’autre. Pensez-y bien!

      Bruno Jean