Mont-Tremblant Ironman 70.3

Undertaken by: Bernard Turpin

My name is Bernard Turpin. I am 60 years young!

Six years ago, I was a smoker and was using a pump because I had trouble breathing. One day I decided to make big changes in my life. I quit smoking, and reduce drinking, even though I still enjoy a little glass of red wine on occasion. I also started to practice sports again and I changed my diet.

I started with rollerblades but I decided to hang them up to buy a bike. During winter, I started practicing cross country skiing, downhill skiing and snowshoeing.

A little over 2 years ago, that is to say, in August 2011, I was not feeling all that well, I taught that I was at a stagnant point when exercising; I had difficulties when climbing hills on my bike and at the gym. On a Tuesday morning, I decided to go to the hospital; they ran tests on me and told me I had two arteries blocked at 70%. They kept me and I had a surgery (angioplasty) on Thursday morning. I was released from the hospital on Friday afternoon. The next day, I went for a walk. On Monday, I was back at work and the following Saturday back on my bike. Since then, I continued to cycling and exercising. Once the cycling season ends, it is the spinning season that starts twice a week in addition to snowshoeing, downhill skiing, running and swimming. And you know what? I’ve never felt better in my life!

In the spring, I decided to undertake a personal challenge: the IRONMAN 70.3 in Mont-Tremblant on June 21, 2015. Lately, I began a gradual running program and I started swimming lessons in order to get ready to accomplish my challenge.

I am very conscious of the chance I have to be healthy enough to practice the sports that I love, and most importantly, I am aware that without the changes I’ve made in my life and without the proper care I received, I would probably not be able to practice all these sports. That is why I decided that I had to make something positive out of my negative experience, so if I’m going to make a challenge I might just as well do it for a good cause and raise funds for the Heart and Stroke Foundation, to share my gratitude and thanks for the great care I had in Hull Hospital.

I want to promote a healthy lifestyle, good diet and especially the practice of sports, which somehow saved my life! I want to show that anything is possible when you believe in yourself and you put all your HEART in it!

  • Make a donation to

  • Share your support with your friends

21
juin
2015

Ironman 70.3 Mont-Tremblant

Entrepris par : Bernard Turpin

Je m’appelle Bernard Turpin. J’ai 60 ans.

Il y a six ans, je fumais, et j’utilisais une pompe pour asthmatiques parce que j’avais de la difficulté à respirer. Un jour, j’ai décidé d’apporter de gros changements dans ma vie. J’ai arrêté de fumer, et j’ai diminué ma consommation de boisson, quoique je prends quand même un petit verre de vin rouge à l’occasion. Aussi, j’ai recommencé à faire du sport et modifié mon alimentation.

J’ai découvert le patin à roues alignées, mais j’ai décidé d’accrocher mes patins pour m’acheter un vélo de route. L’hiver, j’ai commencé à faire du ski de fond, du ski alpin et de la raquette.

II y a un peu plus de deux ans, en août 2011, je ne constatais aucune amélioration sur ma santé, ni dans mes entraînements à vélo ni au gym. Un mardi matin, j’ai décidé d’aller à l’hôpital. Après un examen complet, on m’a diagnostiqué deux artères bloquées à 70 %. J’ai subi une angioplastie le jeudi matin, et je suis sorti de l’hôpital le vendredi midi. Le lendemain, je faisais une marche; le lundi, j’étais de retour au travail; et le samedi suivant, j’enfourchais mon vélo. Depuis, je continue à en faire, de même que des entraînements réguliers. Dès que la saison du vélo se termine, je me tourne vers le spinning, à raison de deux fois par semaine, en plus de faire de la raquette, du ski alpin, de la course à pied et le la natation. Et vous savez quoi? Je ne me suis jamais senti aussi bien!

Au printemps, j’ai décidé de réaliser un défi personnel : terminer la course IRONMAN 70.3 de Mont-Tremblant qui aura lieu le 21 juin 2015. Dernièrement, j’ai entrepris un programme de course progressif et cours de natation, histoire d’avoir les capacités nécessaires pour entreprendre mon défi.

Je suis conscient de la chance que j’ai d’être en santé et d’ainsi pratiquer les sports que j’aime. Je suis surtout conscient que sans les changements que j’ai apportés à mon mode de vie et sans les bons soins que j’ai reçus, je ne pourrais probablement pas faire tous ces sports. C’est pourquoi je me suis dit que je devais accomplir quelque chose de positif à la suite de mon expérience. Pourquoi ne pas relever un défi pour une bonne cause et ramasser des fonds pour la Fondation des maladies du cœur et de l’AVC? Je le fais donc afin de témoigner ma gratitude et de remercier les gens qui m’ont soigné à l’Hôpital de Hull.

Je veux promouvoir les bonnes habitudes de vie, la saine alimentation, et surtout le sport, qui m’a en quelque sorte sauvé la vie! Je veux montrer à tous que tout est possible quand on croit en soi et qu’on y met du CŒUR!

  • Faites un don en ligne

  • Partagez votre appui avec vos amis